Hungry for Hungarian

After making a large Greek dinner for three, I decided to keep things simply for my Hungarian week.  A well known Hungarian dish is chicken paprikash.  Not only is it fun to say, but it is a nice hearty meal that is a true Hungarian staple.  Paprikash gets it name from the use of paprika (traditionally sweet paprika), and is usually served with egg noodles.

I started with butter in a hot pan and added onions, salt, and pepper.  Cook the onions until they are browned and softened.

img_3679

I then sprinkled the chicken thighs with salt and pepper and added them to the pan, cooking them on both sides until they are browned.

img_3680

Then I added the paprika and chicken stock and stirred everything until the chicken is coated and cooked until the paprika is fragrant.

img_3681

Then I turned down the heat just a little bit and covered the pan to simmer the chicken a little bit longer.

img_3682

Next I added fresh tomatoes and tomato paste, and stirred everything together.

img_3683

Finally I boiled the egg noodles to serve with the chicken.

img_3684

I plated up the noodles, chicken and some fresh greens.  It didn’t look the prettiest, but it was delicious and definitely very filling!

img_3687

It was a nice simple dinner, but my experiences when I was in Budapest taught me that Hungarian food is hearty, simple, and delicious.  I was happy to have this meal all to myself!

Leave a Reply

