It’s All Greek Food to Me!

I know, I know, the title is a little obvious, but I’m trying to play a little catch up and I’m not feeling very creative right now.

I love Greek food, and there were a couple things I knew I definitely wanted to make and there were a couple things I learned while doing some research about Greek cuisine.  For sure, spanakopita had to be on the menu, and I also was interested in making tzatziki, and finally there had to be some lamb somehow.  I always like an excuse to make lamb, and it wouldn’t be a Greek dinner without some lamb.

I started with the tzatziki since it was pretty simple and I had made it before.  First I took a cucumber and grated it with a large cheese grater.

img_3596

Then you add the greek yogurt, chopped dill, minced garlic, lemon zest, lemon juice, salt and pepper.  Mix it up and, it’s all ready!

img_3600img_3602

Of course, you can’t have tzatziki and not have something to dip in it, so I also made roasted artichokes.  The best way to eat an artichoke, in my opinion, is a roasted whole artichoke with something delicious to dip the leaves in.  I chopped off the stem so that it would sit flat, and chopped off the top.  You should also snip the pointy ends off all the leaves.

img_3603

Next I stuffed whole garlic cloves into the center of each artichoke, drizzled them with some olive oil, and seasoned with a little salt and pepper.  Then I wrapped each one in aluminum foil and roasted them.

img_3605

The second appetizer I made was spanakopita.  There is nothing that says, Greek mother who loves you quite like homemade spanakopita.  The filling is a nice easy sautéed spinach with oil, pepper, and garlic.

img_3610

I scooped out the spinach with a slotted spoon and dabbed out some of the excess oil.  Then I mixed the cooked spinach with feta cheese to finish it off.

img_3614

If you have read any of my other posts, you will know that baking is not my strong suit, but even if I was the best baker in all the land, I think I can be forgiven for using frozen filo dough.  I put a spoonful of the spinach, cheese mixture on the filo dough and folded it over, pinching the edges with a little water to seal them shut.

img_3615

img_3617

Then I baked them until they turned crispy and browned.

img_3623

img_3624

img_3632

img_3638

With the appetizers out of the way, I made the main course: Lamb chops with roasted vegetables and stuffed tomatoes.

I chopped up zucchini and potatoes and tossed them with oil, salt, and pepper.

img_3606

Then, I seasoned the lamb with salt and pepper and seared the chops on all sides on the stove.

img_3626

Once the lamb was browned, I just lay them on top of the vegetables and baked the whole thing in the oven until the veggies were tender and the lamb was cooked to medium rare.img_3630

For the tomatoes, I cut off the tops and hollowed out each one.

img_3612

I cooked up some wild rice and added the tomato insides and then stuffed each tomato with the rice mixture.

img_3618

img_3620

Then I put the tomato tops back on and roasted the tomatoes in the oven as well.  You should cook them until the tomatoes are tender but don’t get so soft that they collapse.

img_3641

The final step was to plate it up and top with some fresh arugula. img_3646

Pair with some wine and add excellent company, and you have yourself a wonderful Greek meal!

img_3651img_3633

I was so happy to share this dinner with my mom and sister and they claimed it was delicious, so I chose to believe them.

 

Leave a Reply

